nicholas cline | composer

Eleven Duos (2011)

for two violins

  1. prelude
  2. hocket
  3. ballad


  • Sophie Bird and Eric Auerbach, Ford-Crawford Hall, Bloomington, Indiana, 11/11/2012
  • Sophie Bird and Eric Auerbach, Midwest Composer's Symposium, Iowa City, Iowa, 11/03/2012
  • Madalyn Parnas and Aaron Schwebel, Auer Hall, Bloomington, Indiana, 11/29/2011

Program Note:

These brief duets are selections from a larger set (still in progress) modeled on Ligeti's Musica ricercata. Prelude, Hocket, and Ballad represent the second, third, and eighth pieces, respectively. Each piece explores a particular sound world through allusion and quotation. An over-arching goal in composing this set has been to find subtle ways of maximizing the violin's sonic potential.

View the score: [PDF]